Image

Urgent Favorites – Have until 11/19/13!!

20131118-143734.jpg

**BOTH OF THESE GREAT DOGS NEED OUT BY 6-8PM 11/19/2013**

SKYLAR!

Introducing the beautiful Skylar (A20990715)! Skylar is 3-5 years old and appears to be a Retriever/Terrier mix. She has the soft retriever like fur with the unique brindle markings usually seen in Chesapeake Bay Retrievers. We have a feeling this girl would love to swim. She’s a bigger girl at around 60lbs but walks nicely when harnessed. She’s smart and is picking up commands quickly – she learned “sit” within a couple days. She went to an event at a state park this weekend and did great with kids and she met a couple dogs her size on leash and was friendly and appropriate. She’s a very affectionate girl, who takes treats nicely and loves to just lean up against for some loving. And with fur as soft as hers, you’ll want to pet her all day long. Have we mentioned that studies show petting dogs can lower blood pressure? Skylar can be an investment in your health! She’s currently staying at ACCT and recently hit the ACCT dog lottery – she got 2 penpals of her very own who will be working with her on her commands, walking on leash habits and taking her lots of fun places. You can email them with any questions at KellyJacoby65@gmail.com or RescueMunchie@gmail.com and you can also follow Skylar’s search for a new home at www.facebook.com/AdoptAnACCTPenpal. And you can always just head right to the shelter to meet her! ACCT is currently full and Skylar would love a new home soon. Photos at:http://www.flickr.com/photos/63234602@N08/sets/72157635850677305/These dogs are currently enrolled in the Pen Pal Program at the Animal Care & Control Team (ACCT) of Philadelphia. ACCT is located at 111 W. Hunting Park Ave. Philadelphia, PA 19140. Adoption Hours are Monday-Friday, 1pm-8pm and Saturday-Sunday, 10am-5pm. Foster Care Hours are 9am-6pm every day. Stop by and save a life!

OTIS!
Hey there friends! My name is Otis (A20940991) and I’m pleased to meet you! Are you looking to adopt or perhaps foster a fun-loving pup? Well, you have found me! Let me tell you just a little bit about me and see if perhaps we could hit it off.

I love to run and play! I especially love to play fetch and other games with toys. My pen pals say I’m really at trade up toys nicely and that I’m a ton of fun and would really make a good buddy for someone who likes to spend a little time outdoors playing a good game. If you have a playful dog that’s looking for a friend, I would LOVE a buddy! I’ve met some other dogs here at the shelter and boy is it a whole lot of fun when we get to play together. I also like to give puppy kisses to my doggy friends. What can I say? I’m just a friendly boy!

I’m learning some basic commands and have been picking things up quickly. I’ve learned “sit”, “down”, and “touch” and I’m working on “stay”, “wait”, and “drop it”. People say I’m doing great and I LOVE treats (especially string cheese, if you want to bring me a little snack when you come to meet me- hint*hint)!

I’m working on walking like a gentleman on the leash. I pull a bit but I’m learning and I walk best in a harness. I would make a great hiking or jogging partner- have I mentioned I love to run?! I recently went on a stroll with his pen pals along Kelly Drive and boy was that fun! I got to see so many people and geese too. It’s a great place to explore!

Besides being an active boy, I know how to relax! After 10-15 minutes of play, I’m ready to unwind by your side for some pets and maybe a little nap. I’m told my fur is so soft and fluffy, so I’m nice to snuggle up to. And I sure do love some lovin’!

So what do you think? Am I the kind of dog you are looking for? Do you have any more questions? Feel free to contact my pen pals at laxdeexla@gmail.com and gchilds24@gmail.com. My pen pals are volunteers dedicated to keeping me happy while at the shelter and helping find me a home. They help me learn basic commands and manners, take me on off-site adventures and adoption events, give me lots of love and exercise, as well as offer support to my adopters after I go home.

I’m already neutered, micro chipped, and up to date on my shots. This means I’m ready to go home today! I’m approximately 1 year old and weigh about 40 pounds. If you have cats, adoption staff will perform a cat test before I go home to see how I do. If you are ready to meet me, head on down to the shelter with the entire family. I’ll be happy to see you!

Photos at:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/65766051@N02/sets/72157635504148534/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/ladydee/sets/72157636261601174/with/10126931004/

Check out my video at: http://youtu.be/Vums2ujG6X0

Check our me & my friend Zume playing!http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V7j1FTlWE2E

Tell me what you think!

